Gluten Free Bun

gf bunI know, okay.  I know.  It’s been forever since I posted on here.  But I have a real reason, I promise.  You see, for the past few months I’ve been focusing on a different type of bun in the oven.  That’s right, Quinoa and Cookie-ers, my husband and I are expecting our first kiddo this fall!  And while we couldn’t be more excited for this little bugger, I have to admit: morning sickness is no joke.  For the first three months or so, eating just wasn’t a particularly pleasant experience.  And the whole blogging about food thing?  Yeah, that simply wasn’t going to happen.

Today, though, I’m back.  I’m into the second trimester, and food and I are pretty much besties again.  With the exception of seafood and coffee, I’m all about eating.  So get excited for all sorts of new recipes!  But first, I’m offering a guide to anyone else with a gluten free diet going through that first trimester misery.  All the morning sickness remedies spoke of things like saltines and dry toast.  Basically, anything you could imagine with white flour.  For me, that wasn’t going to work.  I did, however, manage to find some go-to gluten free snacks to help me get through those weeks.

Celestial Seasonings Jammin’ Lemon Ginger Tea (GF, vegan)

I discovered this tea at my friend’s Tea Party Bridal Shower.  At that point, the pregnancy was still under wraps but morning sickness was in full swing.  This tea was part of the sampler, and I immediately fell in love.  Ginger is a fantastic remedy for nausea, and the lemon in there helped to make this so refreshing.

Lemonade Gatorade (GF, vegan)

I don’t think I’ve consumed so much Gatorade since I was in band camp for eight hour days in the sun in high school.  Don’t ask me why, but for whatever reason my body was craving Gatorade.  I would water it down and sip on it all day long.

Snyder’s Gluten Free Mini Pretzels (GF, vegan)

I pretty much had a baggie of these with me everywhere I went.  They were mild and salty, and the ideal thing to reach for whenever nausea started to set in.

Annie’s Bunny Cookies (GF, vegan)

I tried these on a whim one day when I needed a snack on the go, and wanted chocolate without getting sick.  They fit the bill and made me feel great.  I still keep bags of these in my purse, and even ate them before my last ultrasound to get the little bugger kicking and moving!

Rice Chex with Vanilla Almond Milk and Banana (GF, vegan)

So tasty.  So easy.  The banana and almond milk gave me something with a little bit of sweetness and flavor without making me ill.  Yeah, I ate this every day for about two and a half months.

Applesauce Cups (GF, vegan)

The tiny lunchbox cups were the perfect size for me to snack on without eating too much.  It was the perfect pre-workout snack.

Rice in Chicken Broth (GF)

An oldie, but a goodie.  For my go-to lunch, I would just eat this crazy toned-down chicken soup.  I would cook up I’d have Brendan make a big batch of rice, then just heat it up in the microwave with boxed chicken stock.  If I was feeling adventurous I’d add a little bit of black pepper.  It was a way to get protein and extra fluids.

What about you?  What did you live on when battling morning sickness?

5 thoughts on “Gluten Free Bun

Leave a Reply

