Apple Coffee Cake Muffins {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Light and moist, these apple coffee cake muffins are a sure way to brighten up your breakfast!

Light and moist, these apple coffee cake muffins are a sure way to brighten up your breakfast!

As regular readers of the blog will likely have noticed, I have a definite thing for muffins.  They’re easy to make, and are perfect for an addition to my breakfast or an afternoon snack.  And, you know, Brendan will never complain about a tray full of baked goods sitting on the counter.

These are so tasty; just look at those chunks of apple and brown sugar topping!

These are so tasty; just look at those chunks of apple and brown sugar topping!

These muffins were inspired by a tried and true recipe.  For as long as I can remember, my mom has been making an apple chip coffee cake.  In fact, she first made the recipe when she was in home ec in middle school and the recipe has been hanging around ever since.  While I didn’t hang on to any of my middle school recipes (although I remember making snickerdoodles and mac and cheese), I can totally understand why this recipe has stood up to the test of time.  The coffee cake is moist and light and the flavor is awesome – slightly cinnamon-y, with the brightness of apples.  It has always been a go to for brunches and lazy weekend mornings.

This week, though, I wanted to modernize the recipe.  Unlike the original, this is both gluten free and vegan (I have a feeling neither of those things were a primary concern in home ec classes in the 1970s).  And, of course, they are muffins instead of a cake!  Without a doubt, this adaptation was a success.  The muffins are as flavorful as the original and the texture is perfect.  The topping is delicious, even without the butter called for in the original recipe.  My husband, mom, and I all approve of these, no questions asked.  I think that original coffee cake may finally have some competition!

Apple Coffee Cake Muffins

Gluten Free & Vegan

Those crumbs on the plate?  That's the sign of a great textured muffin right there!!

Those crumbs on the plate? That’s the sign of a great textured muffin right there!!

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups gluten free flour with xanthan gum
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • 1 flax egg
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¾ cup finely chopped peeled apple
  • 6 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp chopped pecans
I don't see these moist, flavorful muffins lasting long in our house!

I don’t see these moist, flavorful muffins lasting long in our house!

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400. Prepare a 12-cup muffin tin with cooking spray (or muffin liners).
  2. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a small bowl, combine almond milk, egg, oil, and vanilla.
  4. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until combined; batter will be a bit lumpy.
  5. Stir in apples.
  6. Spoon batter into muffin tin (I got 10 muffins).
  7. Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecans. Top each muffin with mixture.
  8. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  9. Cool on a wire rack and store in an airtight container at room temperature.
These apple coffee cake muffins are light, moist, and very flavorful.  Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

These apple coffee cake muffins are light, moist, and very flavorful. Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

7 thoughts on “Apple Coffee Cake Muffins {Gluten Free & Vegan}

  1. Wow, these look incredible Becky! I’m totally with you on the muffin kick— they’ve been my favorite thing to bake (and eat) lately and I can’t seem to keep them in the house (thanks to my pesky boyfriend). Guess I’ll have to try these this weekend 🙂

    Like

  2. This recipe looks great & pretty simple. I’m always looking for new things for breakfast that have both of those characteristics! Two questions: 1) I don’t have any gluten-free flour in the house but I’d like to make these tonight or tomorrow morning. Can I substitute whole wheat flour without any adjustments to the other ingredients? 2) What is a flax egg? I’ve been following a vegan diet for 13 months but haven’t run into that yet. Thanks for any help you can share!

    Like

    • Sorry it took me so long to get back to you!! As far as whole wheat flour is concerned, I’m not 100% sure. My GF flour is pretty similar to a plain white flour, and from my knowledge whole wheat tends to require a little bit extra liquid, so I may add an extra splash of almond milk until you get a consistency you like.

      As far as a flax egg, it’s made from ground flax seed. In general, use one tablespoon of ground flax seed dissolved into three tablespoons of warm water. Stir it together and let it sit for a few minutes before using it in the recipe. It has a pretty similar consistency to an egg and works beautifully in baked goods.

      Hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

