Mushroom Marsala Risotto {GF & Vegan}

This mushroom risotto has all of the flavors of a classic chicken marasala, in a bowl of rice.  Oh yes, it is delicious.

This mushroom risotto has all of the flavors of a classic chicken marasala, in a bowl of rice. Oh yes, it is delicious.

When I was in grad school at OSU, my friends and I agreed to go out at the end of each semester to celebrate surviving.  And with statistics classes that led me to crying in the middle of a lecture – literally – survival wasn’t necessarily a given.  At the end of our first semester, we went out to Rigsbys Kitchen in the Short North.  It was absolutely amazing, and I think only 30% of that deliciousness can be accounted for by the fact that we had no papers to write for the next few weeks.  Anyway, as a gluten free diner, I didn’t have the entire menu at my disposal.  What I did have, however, was an amazing mushroom risotto.  I’d had versions of mushroom risotto many times before but this one was different: it was a marsala mushroom risotto.

It's nice to eat this without feeling like I'm doomed to failing and having to repeat statistics.  As a side note, I ended up with an A in that class...

It’s nice to eat this without feeling like I’m doomed to failing and having to repeat statistics. As a side note, I ended up with an A in that class…

Ever since then, that meal has been dancing around in the back of my mind.  I’ve made risotto many times since then, and every time I’m standing at the stove stirring, I think that I need to try to recreate that dish.  Last night, I finally did.  And despite the fact that I ate the original over three years ago, I feel confident that this rendition was just as good as the original!  The marsala wine lends a certain sweetness to the risotto that you don’t get in a traditional white wine based dish.  The mushrooms maintained a nice meatiness and provided a great contrast to the rice.  I topped mine with Parmesan cheese for a nice salty bite, and it turned out so well.  Brendan and I devoured this, and I am confident that I’ll be making it again.

Now, if only we had some Jeni’s ice cream to finish off the meal…

Marsala Risotto

Gluten Free & Vegan

We had this as our main dish with just a side salad, but it would also work really well as a side served alongside grilled chicken

We had this as our main dish with just a side salad, but it would also work really well as a side served alongside grilled chicken

Ingredients

  • 8 oz cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 ¼ cups aborio rice
  • 4 cups vegetable stock, heated
  • 1 cup marsala wine
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Parmesan Cheese for topping, optional

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, brown mushrooms in olive oil and a splash of marsala wine.
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil over medium heat in a large pot. Sauté onion for about five minutes, until translucent. Add garlic and parsley and sauté for an additional 30 seconds – 1 minute, until fragrant.
  3. Stir in rice and toss to coat with oil.
  4. Turn heat to medium-low, and stir in stock and wine, about half a cup at a time. Wait until the liquid has been absorbed before adding more. Keep stirring and adding liquid until the rice is tender, about 40 minutes.
  5. Stir in mushrooms and season with salt and pepper. Stir for an additional five minutes or so.
  6. Serve hot, with cheese if desired.
This mushroom risotto has all of the flavors of chicken marsala, wrapped up in a one-bowl meal.  Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

This mushroom risotto has all of the flavors of chicken marsala, wrapped up in a one-bowl meal. Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

One thought on “Mushroom Marsala Risotto {GF & Vegan}

Leave a Reply

