Choco-PB-Banana Oatmeal {GF & Vegan}

Creamy oats, with peanut butter, chocolate, and banana.  What better lunch could there be for a snow day?

Creamy oats, with peanut butter, chocolate, and banana. What better lunch could there be for a snow day?

When it’s cold and miserable outside (seriously, WHEN WILL IT END??), all I want to eat is something warm and – usually – full of carbs.  There’s something so happy about them.  My other comfort foods are, of course, chocolate and peanut butter.  But those two things in a bowl of spaghetti just sound nasty.  Oatmeal, though?  Now that’s a different story.

This is a bowl full of happiness, plain and simply.

This is a bowl full of happiness, plain and simply.

I’ll admit that this isn’t my most intricate recipe.  Not by a long shot.  In fact, I’m rather embarrassed to post it up here at all.  However, it’s just so tasty that I couldn’t keep it from you if you haven’t tried it before!  Honestly, this was my go-to lunch in grad school.  It is inexpensive and comes together really quickly.  The oats keep me full, and the peanut butter adds protein.  And the chocolate?  Well, that just makes me feel like I get to eat dessert for a main meal, and that’s always a plus!

Now go into your kitchen, microwave up a bowl of this awesomeness, and warm yourself up as the snow falls outside!

Chocolate, Peanut Butter, & Banana Oatmeal

I used chunky peanut butter, but creamy works too, if you want to avoid the little pieces.

I used chunky peanut butter, but creamy works too, if you want to avoid the little pieces.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup quick oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill certified GF)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 banana, sliced

Directions

  1. Combine oats, water, and almond milk in a microwave safe bowl with high sides.  Stir, and microwave on medium-high heat for 2 minutes.
  2. Stir in cocoa powder and peanut butter, and microwave for an additional 30 seconds – 1 minute.
  3. Allow oatmeal to sit for about a minute, then top with banana.
Leave a Reply

