Apple Fritters {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Celebrate Fat Tuesday the way my family does: with freshly fried apple fritters!

Celebrate Fat Tuesday the way my family does: with freshly fried apple fritters!

Happy Apple Fritter Day, everyone!  Yes, apple fritter day.  Now, I know most people will argue with me.  “Today is pancake day,” they’ll say.  But those people are wrong.  For my whole life…and my mom’s whole life…and my Grandma’s whole life…and I think for the lives of the women in my family for generations, Mardi Gras has been a day when we fry up apple fritters.  My mom tells the story of when she was a kid, and her grandmother would get her after school and make these for an after school snack, and then again when the rest of the family came over after dinner.  Of course, my great grandmother didn’t have a recipe for them; she would just throw the ingredients together and fry them up.  My mom took the time to to watch her make these, taking notes, and finally put the recipe together.  And I’m here to share it with you.

Powdered sugar is, of course, the most important part of making fritters.

Powdered sugar is, of course, the most important part of making fritters.

As I said, I’ve been eating these apple fritters every year for my entire life.  The first time I actually remember eating them, I was about three or four, and it was after we went skiing (the one and only time I skied).  I was psyched for them, though, so clearly at that point I’d remembered them from the past.  Throughout my childhood, we’d have friends and family over the house, and we’d eat jambalya or shrimp creole and fry up batches upon batches of fritters.  My job was powder sugaring, and I took it very seriously.  This happened annually, until I went off to college; deep frying in a dorm room is highly frowned upon.  My sophomore year, my now-hubby surprised me with an apple fritter from Dunkin’ Donuts, and while I appreciated the gesture it just wasn’t the same.

Brendan, stealing an apple fritter.  Yeah, I'd say he's a convert!

Brendan, stealing an apple fritter. Yeah, I’d say he’s a convert!

The following year, he understood what the difference was.  Finally in my own apartment, I made apple fritters on my own for the first time.  Brendan and Kaitlyn joined me, as did my roommates and a bunch of our friends.  Just like when I was a kid, I fried up a ton of batches of fritters, and we devoured them all.  Everyone was obsessed with them, and they all came back senior year.

Doused with powdered sugar, these babies aren't going to last long.  And that's okay.

Doused with powdered sugar, these babies aren’t going to last long. And that’s okay.

Honestly, their obsession isn’t surprising at all.  These apple fritters are amazing.  Filled with apples, they have a little bit of crunch, but it’s mostly pillowy softness.  You can absolutely taste the brandy, and the touch of cinnamon gives such depth of flavor.  And the powdered sugar on top is just perfect!  Sure it gets everywhere, but it is so worth it.  You end up licking your fingers time and time again, and keep reaching back for another freshly fried fritter.  So this year, forgo the silly pancakes and dive into my family tradition.  Once you try these apple fritters, you will not be going back!

Apple Fritters
Gluten Free & Vegan
The original recipe calls for regular milk and egg, but I made these vegan because I love you.  You’re welcome.

Brandy + apples + powdered sugar = happiness

Brandy + apples + powdered sugar = happiness

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups gluten free flour with xanthan gum
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed, dissolved in 3 tbsp warm water
  • 2/3 cup liquid; we’ve always used a combo of milk and brandy.  Apparantly, my great grandma was a bit heavy-handed with the brandy, but if you don’t have any, or don’t like the flavor, or are cooking for kids who lick up raw batter, you can just use milk
    • 1/3 cup brandy
    • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 3 – 4 medium apples, chunked into ½” pieces and tossed with cinnamon
  • Oil, for frying
  • Powdered sugar, for topping
So pillowy and delicate, they look good enough to eat.

So pillowy and delicate, they look good enough to eat.

Directions

  1. Pour oil into a heavy bottomed pan, and heat to about 300 F.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Add milk, brandy, and flax egg into the flour mixture, and stir till just combined.
  4. Stir in apples.
  5. Fry by the spoonful until golden brown (about 2 – 3 minutes).
  6. Drain fritters and dust with powdered sugar. Enjoy hot.
  7. Extras can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge and reheated in a toaster oven. But you can finish them all on your own. I have faith in you.
Celebrate Mardi Gras with homemade apple fritters.  This family recipe has been updated to be gluten free and vegan, but they are just as delicious as the original!

Celebrate Mardi Gras with homemade apple fritters. This family recipe has been updated to be gluten free and vegan, but they are just as delicious as the original!

5 thoughts on “Apple Fritters {Gluten Free & Vegan}

  1. Pingback: Cajun Jambalaya {GF} with Creole Sauce {GF & Vegan} | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

