Black Eyed Pea Slow Cooker Curry {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Perfect for a cold day, this slow cooker curry is warm and filling and next to no work!

Perfect for a cold day, this slow cooker curry is warm and filling and next to no work!

I’ve spoken before about how my husband likes curry.  It may not be expected, given his previous love of all things familiar and plain, but I’m not complaining.  It’s one of the few vegan meals I can always make without any sort of push back.  For whatever reason, he doesn’t miss the meat or dairy in his curry, and he eats it voraciously every time.  We both do, honestly.  It’s slowly becoming a staple on our dinner table, and I’m not looking back.

This time, though, I wanted to do something different.  More to the point, I wanted to use up the black eyed peas I had sitting in my cabinet.  You see, Brendan is a social studies teacher.  One of the lessons he does is about trade in the new world.  He brings in bananas and oranges and chocolate and…dried beans.  The kids learn about what the settlers and natives traded, and at the end of the lesson the kids can keep what they have.  And yet, for some reason, none of them wanted the dried black eyed peas.  So, it came home and was placed in my cabinet for me to cook up for dinner.

I promise, there's rice down there somewhere.  You can eat it with a spoon and devour all of the broth, or just use a fork to scoop out the goodies.  Either way, you can't go wrong!

I promise, there’s rice down there somewhere. You can eat it with a spoon and devour all of the broth, or just use a fork to scoop out the goodies. Either way, you can’t go wrong!

I considered making hoppin’ john or just a plain old stew, but like I said curry was just calling out to me.  Knowing we were having friends over for game night, I decided on a slow cooker meal.  I hate trying to clear off the table and do all the dishes, just hoping to have everything done by the time people arrive.  The slow cooker means way fewer dishes; we just put our plates in the dishwasher and the leftovers in the fridge, and we’re good to go.  I’m seriously in love with that thing.

Anyway, I was getting my recipe together, and I realized I had no coconut milk.  Not wanting to go out to the store in the record cold temperatures we were having, I improvised.  I made a veloute to give the curry that same creaminess, and just poured that into the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients.  I had mine over rice, Brendan had his over quinoa, and we both thoroughly enjoyed it.  It pairs really well with a little bit of sriracha or fresh lime juice squeezed on top at the end, but is also delicious plain.  However you eat it, it’s warm and filling.  And, as I mentioned, it is insanely simple come dinner time to just scoop it out of the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Black-Eyed Pea Curry

Gluten Free & Vegan

Black eyed peas.  Sweet potatoes.  No dishes after dinner.  Yep, this is my kinda meal.

Black eyed peas. Sweet potatoes. No dishes after dinner. Yep, this is my kinda meal.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dried black-eyed peas, soaked 8 – 12 hours
  • ¼ cup rice flour
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 ½ tbsp. curry powder
  • ½ tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 2 large carrots, diced
  • 1 sweet potato, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes

Directions

  1. Sauté together onions and carrots in olive oil over medium heat for 1-2 minutes. Add in garlic and ginger, and sauté for another 30 seconds or so, until fragrant. Remove from heat and transfer into the slow cooker.
  2. Meanwhile, heat canola oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat. Once hot, whisk in rice flour to make a roux. Continue whisking, careful to keep it from burning, for about two minutes. Slowly whisk in the vegetable stock, and bring to a simmer. Stir in curry powder and salt.
  3. Transfer stock mixture into the slow cooker. Add sweet potato and diced tomatoes, and stir to combine.
  4. Cook on low for about 8 hours. Serve hot over cooked rice or quinoa.

Inspired By:

Black eyed peas and sweet potatoes are perfect together in this slow cooker curry.  Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

Black eyed peas and sweet potatoes are perfect together in this slow cooker curry. Gluten free and vegan, on Quinoa & Cookies

2 thoughts on “Black Eyed Pea Slow Cooker Curry {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Leave a Reply

