Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal {Gluten Free & Vegetarian}

Who needs those processed packets when instant oatmeal is this simple to make?

Who needs those processed packets when instant oatmeal is this simple to make?

Back in college, I lived off of oatmeal.  I know, I know, the quintessential collegiate meal is Ramen.  But oatmeal is just so much tastier.  Besides, it’s perfect for any time of day.  I wouldn’t eat Ramen for breakfast, but oatmeal for dinner?  That I could do.  It was easy and inexpensive to get those packets of instant oatmeal, and it was simple to make in my dorm room.

Perfect for breakfast or an afternoon snack, this oatmeal comes together in under three minutes

Perfect for breakfast or an afternoon snack, this oatmeal comes together in under three minutes

Once I went gluten free, though, it became a little more complicated.  Sure I could make my own oats, but I missed the convenience of the instant.  Now, it’s becoming much easier to find the instant packets, but they are so expensive.  Unlike the regular versions, the gluten free oatmeal tends to be about seventy five cents per packet.  And not to be a total cheapskate, but I knew I could beat that by making them on my own.

So, after toying around with the idea for quite some time, I made my own instant oatmeal.  Honestly, I can’t believe I didn’t do it sooner!  It took less than five minutes to put everything together, and they taste even better than the packets you can buy.  Not only did I reduce the sugar (I don’t like my oatmeal that sweet), but I added flax seeds as a healthy bonus.  I’ll admit I didn’t put it into baggies, but rather into a big container that I’m leaving on my counter.  But it’s no more difficult to scoop some out than it is to pour out the packet.  And, just like the instant oatmeal you can buy in the store, these cook up in two minutes.  I’m so excited to reintroduce convenience into my breakfast!

Homemade Instant Oatmeal

Makes 7 Servings

I added chopped apples to my oatmeal, but raisins would be a great addition as well!

I added chopped apples to my oatmeal, but raisins would be a great addition as well!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups GF quick cooking oats, separated
  • 1/8 cup flaxseed
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup nonfat dry milk powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar

Directions

  1. Using a food processor, grind ½ cup oats into a powder.
  2. Mix oat powder with rest of the ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Store in an airtight container, or divide into seven baggies (1/3 cup per bag).
  4. To make the oatmeal, combine 1/3 cup oat mixture (or one baggie) with 2/3 cup water. Microwave for 2 minutes on medium-high heat, let stand for 1 minute, and enjoy hot!

I used the following websites for inspiration and reference:

Homemade instant oatmeal is cheaper than you'll find in stores, crazy easy to make, and the flavor possibilities are endless!

Homemade instant oatmeal is cheaper than you’ll find in stores, crazy easy to make, and the flavor possibilities are endless!

One thought on “Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal {Gluten Free & Vegetarian}

Leave a Reply

