Chocolate Swirled Peanut Butter Banana Bread {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Plain old banana bread gets kicked up a notch with peanut butter and a chocolate swirl

Plain old banana bread gets kicked up a notch with peanut butter and a chocolate swirl

When I made double chocolate banana muffins a few weeks ago, I mentioned that my husband was already asking me to bake more of them.  So when I mentioned last week that I was planning on making them again, I was surprised when he asked, “Can you make them in loaf form?  With peanut butter?”  Dude, I was going to make muffins…with a recipe I already have…now you want bread…with peanut butter?  I love him, but man he can be a pain 🙂

The chocolate swirl just elevates this from standard to fancy

The chocolate swirl elevates this bread from standard to fancy

I’ll readily admit though, I was into the idea.  I’d been toying around with the notion of peanut butter banana bread ever since I first stumbled across PB Fit powder.  It’s essentially a peanut flour, and I loved the idea of baking with it without having to totally revamp the fats I use, as I would with plain old peanut butter.  So I wasn’t too frustrated with the idea of making this bread.  But I wasn’t going to just make peanut butter banana bread.  Nope, that combination of ingredients calls for chocolate as well.  Instead of just throwing in some chocolate chips, though, I wanted to fancy it up: this bread was going to have a chocolate swirl.

And you know what?  It was delicious!  The bread itself isn’t overly peanut buttery, but it definitely has a hint of it.  If you want extra peanut butter (and come on, who doesn’t), just spread some on a piece of toasted bread.  Trust me, it’s fantastic that way!  And the chocolate swirl is great; by mixing some of the batter in with the melted chocolate, it maintains a bread-y texture, while still lending that rich sweetness.  So, toasted and topped, or cold and unadorned, this peanut butter banana bread makes for a great addition to breakfast.

Chocolate Swirled Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Adapted from my vegan banana bread

Chocolate Swirled Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Chocolate Swirled Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ c. gluten free flour, with xantham gum
  • ¼ tsp xanthan gum
  • ¼ cup powdered peanut butter (such as PB Fit or PB 2)
  • 1 ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 over-ripe bananas
  • ¼ c. apple sauce
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax seed, mixed into 3 tbsp water)
  • 1 tbsp almond milk, plus a splash
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Heaping ½ cup chocolate chips, vegan if necessary

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F, and prepare a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix together flour, xanthan gum, peanut butter powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mash bananas and mix with apple sauce. Add sugar and mix until combined. Beat in flax egg, tbsp. almond milk, vanilla. Slowly add flour mixture, and stir until just combined.
  4. Melt chocolate chips with a splash of almond milk (I did it in the microwave). Transfer about 2/3 cup batter into the melted chocolate and stir to combine.
  5. Layer plain batter, topped with chocolate batter, topped with remaining plain batter into a loaf pan. Use a knife to swirl the batter.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes – 1 hour, or until the loaf has risen and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Wait at least an hour before slicing.
Gluten Free and Vegan peanut butter banana bread with a chocolate swirl

Gluten Free and Vegan peanut butter banana bread with a chocolate swirl

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Swirled Peanut Butter Banana Bread {Gluten Free & Vegan}

Leave a Reply

