United Kingdom: Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding – Gluten Free

UK Sunday Roast with Yorkshire Pudding

UK Sunday Roast with Yorkshire Pudding

Cooking Around the World is back with the United Kingdom!  When we first drew the UK, my husband was very excited for bangers and mash.  Me, though, I wasn’t so convinced.  Not that I didn’t want bangers and mash, but I knew I wanted to turn to my lovely readers for advice on this one.  What is traditional UK cuisine?  And you guys came through!  There was a pretty unanimous consensus: the Sunday roast was what I needed to make.

My first roast beef!  I'm so proud of myself!

My first roast beef! I’m so proud of myself!

Now, I have a confession to make: I had never made a roast before.  With just my husband and I, the idea of an entire roast seemed a tad excessive.  Besides, making a roast just sounds so adult.  I mean, roasts are something grandmothers make when the family is coming over.  But a 20-something?  It just seemed so intimidating!  Even Googling “how to make roast beef” yielded a ton of contradicting results.  And with my go-to question answerer (AKA Mom) out of the country, I was left standing in the meat aisle with about five packages of beef in my cart.  Eventually I found the butcher, who helped me select the proper cut, while stifling laughter at my utter over-whelmedness.

Even after getting the meat, though, my meal wasn’t complete; in the UK the classic accompaniment to the Sunday roast is Yorkshire Pudding.  Here is the US, “pudding” refers to a creamy dessert.  I knew that Yorkshire Pudding was something different, but before this experiment I wasn’t exactly sure what it was.  Essentially, it’s a mini souffle.  Eggs, flour, and milk are whisked together, and then baked until puffy and golden brown.

The halved recipe made five tasty Yorkshire Puddings.  We ate them all.

The halved recipe made five tasty Yorkshire Puddings. We ate them all.

All things considered, we thoroughly enjoyed this meal.  First of all, my inaugural roast was a success!  It was cooked through and moist, and I was incredibly proud of myself!  And the Yorkshire Puddings were delicious!  I halved the recipe I found because I thought eight puddings would be overkill for the two of us.  Turns out, we polished off what I made in that first meal and my husband is already asking me to make more.  They are light and fluffy, and actually really reminiscent of the little rolls they serve at the Brazilian Steakhouses.  While I doubt it’s traditional, the hubby actually cut his puddings in half and made mini sandwiches out of them with his roast beef…  No matter how it was eaten, though, we really loved this.  It was the perfect meal for a cold winter’s night!

Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding

Adapted from http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/9020/best-yorkshire-puddings

Roast beef, Yorkshire Pudding, green beans, and mushrooms.  Quite a successful Sunday Roast (even if we did make it on a Saturday...)

Roast beef, Yorkshire Pudding, green beans, and mushrooms. Quite a successful Sunday Roast (even if we did make it on a Saturday…)

Ingredients

  • 1 2 lb rump roast
  • Garlic powder, salt, and pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • ½ cup gluten free flour, with xanthan gum
  • ½ cup 1% milk
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Rub the roast with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Place meat on a rack in a roasting pan, and roast in oven for 1:15 – 1:30, until a meat thermometer reaches at least 135. Remove roast from oven and allow meat to rest for about 15 minutes before slicing.
  2. Meanwhile, increase oven temperature to 425. Rub the bottoms of 6 indentations of a muffin tin with olive oil and place muffin tin in the oven.
  3. Measure flour into a medium bowl. Whisk the eggs into the flour until completely smooth. Gradually whisk in milk into the flour mixture, and continue to stir until it is lump free.
  4. Remove the muffin tin from the oven and add the batter to the prepared tins. Place in the oven and bake for 18-22 minutes, until the puddings are puffed and golden brown.
One thought on “United Kingdom: Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding – Gluten Free

  1. Pingback: Kung Pao Chicken {GF} with Eggplant in Garlic Sauce {GF & Vegan} | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

