Homemade Yogurt: Gluten Free & Vegetarian

Homemade yogurt is deceptively simple and fantastically cost effective

Homemade yogurt is deceptively simple and fantastically cost effective

I absolutely adore yogurt.  It’s almost always gluten free, and thus a safe choice for an on the go snack.  Those pre-packaged yogurts can get expensive, though.  Sure they’re convenient, but at a dollar a container it can add up quickly for somebody on a budget.  The solution?  Make my own!

Now, I’m not going to lie: the idea of making my own yogurt freaked me out for a very long time.  I mean, it’s literally growing bacteria to eat.  What if I screwed up?  What if I killed myself and my family?  (Okay, probably an overreaction; we’d just get food poisoning and be fine the next day, but just go with it.)  But, once I got over myself and started making it, I knew there was no going back.

The most challenging part is finding an incubating vessel; I’ve used both the Euro Cuisine and Dash Greek yogurt makers successfully.  The key point is keeping the mixture at approximately 110 degrees for 6-10 hours, depending on the type of milk you use.  While I’ve read that you can do this with a heating pad or in an oven that’s been preheated and then turned off, I can’t speak to its effectiveness.  Honestly, if you’re serious about making yogurt, the yogurt makers are relatively inexpensive and work beautifully.  Besides, the investment will pay for itself in the amount of money you save on buying yogurt.

Homemade Yogurt

Healthy homemade yogurt

Healthy homemade yogurt

Ingredients

  • 5 cups 1% milk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (you can use yogurt you’ve already made if you have it)

Directions

  1. Heat milk over medium low heat (or over a double boiler) to 185 degrees.
  2. Allow milk to cool to 110 degrees.  Remove one cup of milk and stir it together with the yogurt until smooth.  Combine yogurt mixture with remaining milk.
  3. Transfer to yogurt maker (or other fermenting solution), and allow to set for 8 – 10 hours.
  4. Chill in fridge overnight, flavor as desired, and enjoy!  (If you want Greek yogurt, simply strain until you reach the consistency you want)
Leave a Reply

