Broccoli Soup: Gluten Free & Vegan

Move over, chicken noodle: there's a new feel good soup in town!

Move over, chicken noodle: there’s a new feel good soup in town!

I know, I know.  It’s only mid-January.  Nevertheless, I am SO ready for summer.  Or spring; I mean, I’d be okay with a nice sixty degree day right about now.  Either way, I’m over this whole winter thing.  More than just the bitterly cold temperatures and gusting winds, it’s the illnesses flying around right now that are really driving me crazy.  I’m far from deathly ill, but this nagging cold is seriously annoying.

Maybe you’re different, but when I’m sick all I really want is to curl up under a blanket and have somebody bring me hot soup.  But, alas, I’m no longer a kid who gets to stay home from school eating ramen and watching The Price is Right.  Instead, if I want soup I need to make it myself.  And, let’s face it, ramen probably isn’t the best thing in the world that I could be eating anyway.

Thus, I forced myself to head into the kitchen and make this broccoli soup.  It is feel-good food at it’s finest.  Packed with veggies, it’s definitely better for me than canned chicken noodle.  And to be perfectly honest, it isn’t much more difficult to make.  After roughly chopping a few vegetables, you throw everything in the pot and let it cook down for about twenty minutes, or one episode of Parks and Rec on Netflix.  Go back, puree it, and ta-da!  Piping hot, healthy soup, ready to go.  It’ll warm you up and give you the nutrients you need to fight that nuisance of a cold.  Sure, you had to make it yourself, but that’s adulthood, right?

Broccoli Soup

I served the soup with some bisquick biscuits brushed with garlic butter

I served the soup with some bisquick biscuits brushed with garlic butter

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large head broccoli, chopped into florets
  • 1 tbsp dried thyme
  • About 6 cups vegetable stock (enough to cover vegetables)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Cheddar Cheese, optional, for serving

Directions

  1. Over medium heat, saute onion and carrots together in olive oil until onions are translucent.  Add garlic and thyme, and saute for a few seconds more, until fragrant.
  2. Add broccoli, stir to coat with olive oil, and stir in vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil, then reduce temperature to a simmer, cover, and cook for about 20 minutes or until broccoli is very tender.
  3. Using an immersion blender, puree soup.  Taste, and season as desired.  Serve hot, with cheese if desired.
One thought on “Broccoli Soup: Gluten Free & Vegan

Leave a Reply

