Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet: Gluten Free & Vegan

Root for the OSU Buckeyes with this Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet!

Root for the OSU Buckeyes with this Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet!

Do you know what today is?  The College Football Championships!!  And my Ohio State Buckeyes are in it!  I’ve repeatedly mentioned my enthusiasm for the Fightin’ Blue Hens, but I tend not to be as vocal about my OSU love.  That’s probably because I live in Delaware, and have never been to the Shoe.  I did go to Ohio State for grad school, though, and am sincere in my Buckeye pride.

More than anything else about Ohio-living, I miss my easy access to Jeni's...

More than anything else about Ohio-living, I miss my easy access to Jeni’s…

In honor of today’s game, I knew I had to post some Ohio-inspired cuisine.  The obvious choice would have been Buckeyes – chocolate covered peanut butter balls.  And don’t get me wrong, those things are delicious.  But when do I ever go for the obvious?  You see, to me the most iconic Ohio food is Jeni’s Ice Cream.  It is a small (but growing!) chain of ice cream shops, and it is truly unrivaled.  With flavors like Roasted Strawberries and Buttermilk, Dark Milk Chocolate, and Queen City Cayenne, this artisanal company has the most incredible ice cream.  I lived around the corner from a scoop shop, and it was absolutely my guilty pleasure.  And unlike the majority of restaurants where I get into an ordering rut, I was always willing to try new and different combinations at Jeni’s.  Oh, how I wish they would open something in the northeast…

Anyway, today’s recipe for Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet comes from the Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home cookbook.  It is insanely easy to make, and tastes just like what I would get in Columbus.  The sorbet isn’t overly sweet, and would work really well as an intermezzo.  Or, you could pour some sparkling wine over it and make a really tasty frozen spritzer.  Or, pair it with a high quality vanilla (like Jeni’s Uganda Vanilla Bean) and enjoy it for dessert.  Or, like I did, you can eat it on its own for lunch and pretend that you are sitting in Buckeye Country.  Really, it’s up to you.  Just know that once you eat it, going back to plain old sorbet from the food store is going to be a let down.  Consider yourself forewarned.

Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet

from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home Cookbook

Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet is so light, so refreshing, and so addictive!

Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet is so light, so refreshing, and so addictive!

Ingredients

  • 6 – 7 d’anjou pears, peeled, cored, and chopped into 1” pieces
  • ½ cup Riesling
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¼ cup light corn syrup

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a heavy bottomed saucepan over medium high heat. Stir until sugar has dissolved, and cook until pears are soft, about 5 – 10 minutes (the riper the pears are, the quicker the cooking time).
  2. Once the pears are cooked, transfer mixture to a food processer and puree until smooth. Force processed mixture through a sieve to remove any sediment.
  3. Chill sorbet mixture in a water bath until cold, about 30 minutes.
  4. Use an ice cream maker to churn the sorbet until it is the consistency of whipped cream. Transfer to a freezer-safe container and freeze until solid, at least 4 hours.
2 thoughts on “Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet: Gluten Free & Vegan

Leave a Reply

