Homemade Pizza: Gluten Free & Vegan

Who needs delivery when you can make your own pizza in 15 minutes?

Who needs delivery when you can make your own pizza in 15 minutes?

Last week, I mentioned some of the super awesome Christmas presents I got for my kitchen.  Perhaps the most exciting of these gifts was the pizza oven my husband got me.  I suspect that the idea may have been a little bit self-serving (the man could live on pizza alone), but I honestly don’t care.  Being gluten free, finding good pizza can be next to impossible.  While companies like Still Riding Pizza and Conte’s are making GF pizza more readily available, they still leave something to be desired.  So, finally having a pizza oven of my own, I was excited at the prospect of good, old-fashioned pizza.  And let me tell you, that is exactly what I got!

Oh, just a couple slices of pizza.  Yep, I'm obsessed.

Oh, just a couple slices of pizza. Yep, I’m obsessed.

Honestly, we were thrilled with the results of our endeavor.  The crust was pretty much perfect — an ideal balance of crunchy and chewy, and was next to no work to make.  And the oven itself cooked the pizzas in under ten minutes a piece.  This is even faster than that crappy Domino’s delivery.  GET EXCITED PEOPLE!!!  After I made a cake of the month in 2014, I’m pretty confident in my assertion that 2015 will be the year of the pizza!

Anyway, to start off, we went with the classics: one plain and one pepperoni.  We just topped our crusts with some homemade sauce (once I refine the recipe to my liking you’ll get it), mozzarella cheese, and turkey pepperoni.  The possibilities are endless, though, and I seriously cannot wait to experiment.  If you have any suggestions for unique and different pizza toppings, definitely let me know!

Pizza Crust: Gluten Free & Vegan

Adapted from Minimalist Baker

Crunchy and chewy crust, bubbly cheese, and crisp pepperoni.  In other words, homemade perfection!

Crunchy and chewy crust, bubbly cheese, and crisp pepperoni. In other words, homemade perfection!

Ingredients

  • 240 grams white rice flour
  • 153 grams potato starch
  • 63 grams tapioca starch
  • 1 ¾ tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp white sugar, divided
  • 1 tbsp quick yeast
  • 1 ¼ cups warm water (about 110 F), divided
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine the yeast and ¾ cup warm water, and stir to combine. After about two minutes, stir in 1 tbsp sugar. Allow the mixture to sit for about 5 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the flours, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, and remaining sugar. Whisk together until well combined.
  3. In the middle of the dry ingredients, form a small well. Add the yeast mixture, remaining water (1/2 cup), and olive oil, then stir all of the ingredients together until well combined and homogeneous in consistency. It may be easiest to do this with your hands in a pseudo-kneading fashion.
  4. Divide the dough in half, and form first half into a disc approximately 12” in diameter and ¼ inch thick.
  5. Transfer the formed dough to the pizza oven, and bake for approximately 2 minutes. Open oven, top pizza as desired, and continue cooking for 5 – 7 minutes.
  6. Repeat with remaining dough.
  7. Alternatively, you could cook this in a regular oven at 350, either on a pizza pan or stone. The cooking time will be increased.
Pin me, pin me!!

Pin me, pin me!!

5 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza: Gluten Free & Vegan

  1. Pingback: Thai Chicken Pizza with Honey Sriracha Crust: Gluten Free | Quinoa and Cookies

  2. Pingback: Shrimp Scampi Pizza {Gluten Free} | Quinoa and Cookies

  3. Pingback: Caprese Pizza {Gluten Free & Vegetarian} | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

