R is for Russia: Beef Stroganoff

No, it's not Rwandan, but it is delicious!

No, it’s not Rwandan, but it is delicious!

Ok, so I have a confession to make: we didn’t actually get Russia from the random number generator.  Nope, we got Rwanda.  And being the good and honest person that I am, I highlighted it on my spreadsheet and turned to Google to start looking for traditional Rwandan cuisine.  Do you want to know something about traditional Rwandan cuisine?  It’s sort of non-existent.  Moreover, what they do eat is darn similar to what I made for Malawi.  My husband and I looked at each other: did we really want to do that again?  Or could we change the rules just a little bit and allow for something we really wanted to eat?

As you can tell, we went with the latter, and ended up with Russia, making beef stroganoff.  I have to admit: I don’t regret our decision.  The stroganoff was awesome.  For a week before Christmas with the bitterly cold weather and crazy schedules becoming predominant, this dinner completely hit the spot.  Between the mushrooms and beef and creamy sauce, I was totally pleased with the result.  And I got to eat noodles which is always a plus!

Cooking around the world may take a brief hiatus over the next week or so, but we’ll be back with Serbia soon!

Beef Stroganoff

Adapted from http://easteuropeanfood.about.com/od/russianmaincourses/r/Beef-Stroganoff-Recipe.htm

Apparently, it's traditional in Russia to serve this with crispy fried potatoes.  But, well, I love me some noodles!

Apparently, it’s traditional in Russia to serve this with crispy fried potatoes. But, well, I love me some noodles!

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ lbs beef tenderloin, sliced into strips
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 8 oz sliced baby portabella mushrooms
  • ½ cup beef stock
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 6 oz white wine (I used leftover champagne)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat butter in a heavy bottomed pan over medium heat. Sauté onion until translucent. Add mushrooms, and sauté for about two more minutes, or until the mushrooms begin to release their juices. Add the meat and sauté until it starts to brown on the outside.
  2. Meanwhile, mix the stock with the mustard and tomato paste. After the meat has browned, add the stock mixture to the pan and simmer on low for 10-15 minutes, until the meat is cooked through.
  3. Temper the sour cream with a ladleful of the cooking liquid, then stir it into the meat mixture. Stir in the wine, and heat through. Serve hot.
Leave a Reply

