P is for Portugal: Caldo Verde (Potato & Kale Soup)

Portuguese kale and potato soup

Portuguese kale and potato soup

I can’t believe I’m already to the letter “P” for Cooking Around the World!  It’s been going so quickly lately.  What’s more, I’m not sure what endeavor I should undertake next — if you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Anyway, I was super excited to pull Portugal this week.  I thought, for some reason, that paella was actually Portuguese instead of Spanish.  Nope.  It’s Spanish.  I really should have known that.  But after that initial disappointment, I started looking for authentic Portuguese dishes and I came across Caldo Verde.  This potato and kale soup is naturally gluten free, and easily adapted to be vegan. My husband wanted to eat ALL of the chorizo; I was more into the plain potato soup.  If you’re going to make this meat-free, you’ll want to add more salt to the soup itself, but other than that it’s a really easy swap.

Moreover, this caldo verde is absolutely delicious.  The pureed potatoes give the soup such creaminess.  And the kale!  I know that it’s been in vogue for a few years now and saying this will be white noise, but I swear it’s like spinach’s cuter brother.  The flavors work really well together, and it’s so hearty and filling!

Up next will be Qatar, and after that we only have nine more countries (including two wild cards!).  So, like I said, if you have any ideas for a new culinary challenge, let me know.  Until then, just enjoy this Portuguese soup!

Caldo Verde: Potato & Kale Soup

Adapted from http://www.azeliaskitchen.net/caldo-verde-potato-cabbage-sausage-soup/ and http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/portuguese-green-soup-caldo-verde-recipe.html

Ingredients

Just like Campbell's, this is mm mm good!

Just like Campbell’s, this is mm mm good!

  • 3 large potatoes, peeled and chunked
  • 1 large onion, chunked
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 quart vegetable stock
  • 1 6oz chorizo sausage, left intact (omit if vegetarian, and use a vegan sausage to garnish)
  • 1 lb kale, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil over medium heat in a heavy bottomed stockpot. Add onions and sauté for a few minutes. Add garlic and continue to sauté for about 30 seconds, until fragrant.
  2. Add potatoes, sausage, and vegetable stock. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cover. Cook for 15-20 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked.
  3. Remove the sausage and set aside. Using an immersion blender, puree the potatoes mixture. Add in the kale and cook for an additional 10 minutes or so, until tender.  Meanwhile, thinly slice the chorizo.
  4. Serve hot, garnished with a few pieces of sliced sausage.
Leave a Reply

