Cinnamon Cream Cheese

Cinnamon Cream Cheese: one easy way to make your pumpkin bread even happier!

Cinnamon Cream Cheese: one easy way to make your pumpkin bread even happier!

So, as you’ll remember, last week I made a delicious pumpkin bread as a way to use up some leftover ingredients I had sitting around my kitchen.  It was easy, it was tasty, and it accomplished my mission of finishing that canned pumpkin.  But as good as it was plain, I had a feeling that I could make it even better with just the tiniest bit of effort.  Enter cinnamon cream cheese.

Cinnamon cream cheese on pumpkin bread.  Delicious as a breakfast, or a snack, or really anything.

Cinnamon cream cheese on pumpkin bread. Delicious as a breakfast, or a snack, or really anything.

Now, I have to admit, at first I was reluctant to post this on the blog.  It’s ridiculously simple to make.  I mean, I’m not even sure it really counts as a recipe.  But after we devoured the first bit and had to make extras, and then extra pumpkin bread to go with the cream cheese, I decided that the bigger offense would be not to share it.  This spread has the perfect amount of sweetness and spice.  It complements the pumpkin bread perfectly, and I have a feeling it would go very well on a cinnamon raisin bagel as well.  So go ahead and make this.  It will take you all of two minutes, and each bite will make your dreary, rainy Monday into an explosion of rainbows and sunshine in your mouth.

Cinnamon Cream Cheese

Ingredients

Cinnamon cream cheese.  Yep, it's awesome.

Cinnamon cream cheese. Yep, it’s awesome.

  • 4 tbsp neufchatel cheese, softened (I’m sure regular cream cheese would work just as well)
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine all of the ingredients.  Beat together with a hand mixer.  Seriously, that’s it.
  2. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.
Leave a Reply

