Plain Old Apple Pie: Gluten Free and Vegan

Apple Pie: the ultimate dessert for Thanksgiving

Apple Pie: the ultimate dessert for Thanksgiving

This year, I’m really excited to be hosting my first Thanksgiving.  As a kid, we would have Thanksgiving at our house, with a sit down dinner for 40+ people (there were folding tables in ALL of the rooms!).  We had the same menu year after year, and everyone knew exactly which dish they were responsible for.  This year, though, it’s up to me.  While my dinner will be significantly smaller than fifty people, I still want to make sure everything goes off without a hitch.  And that means practicing.

Up first for my test kitchen are pies.  As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I absolutely love to bake.  Cookies and cakes and breads and muffins…I can bang those goodies out in my sleep.  Pie, however, intimidates me.  Mainly because of the crust.  I know people claim it is easy to do in the food processor, but I don’t know.  Without the gluten and with such a high risk of failure, I am reticent.  So I picked up a tub o’ dough and decided to test it out.  It worked pretty well.  As I got the filling for the pie ready, my husband kneaded and rolled the pie crust.  We struggled a bit transferring the dough from the pastry mat to the pie plate, but we got it in eventually.  Other than that, we really had no issues.

I, for one, was pleased with the pie crust after we baked it.  It is pretty light and flaky, and didn’t have that “gluten free” taste to it.  As a bonus, the Pillsbury crust was vegan as well!  And the filling was great.  I make a really simple apple pie filling, no bells and whistles.  I leave the skins on and don’t add too much sugar, instead allowing the natural sweetness of the fruit to do it’s thing.  Without a doubt, this pie will be going on our Thanksgiving menu.  My husband still wants to experiment with homemade dough, but if that doesn’t work out, I won’t hesitate to use this pre-made stuff for company!

Plain Old Apple Pie

Ingredients

No frills apple pie.  Because it doesn't need to be salted caramel scented with dried cranberries and freshly grated nutmeg.

No frills apple pie. Because it doesn’t need to be salted caramel scented with dried cranberries and freshly grated nutmeg.

  • 1 container Pillsbury GF pie crust
  • 6 cups apples, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 cup cornstarch
  • ¼ cup white sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Slice the apples, and combine with the cinnamon, nutmeg, cornstarch, and sugar. Set aside to allow the juices to release.
  3. Meanwhile, follow the directions on the container to roll out the pie crust.
  4. Arrange the crust in a 9” pie plate. Transfer apple mixture into the crust. Top filling with the remaining crust and crimp the edges.
  5. Create an aluminum foil guard around the edges of the pie, and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the foil, and continue to bake for 10-15 minutes until the crust is golden brown.
  6. Allow the pie to cool for at least an hour before serving.

Note: I am not affiliated with Pillsbury in any way.  I just like their products!

One thought on “Plain Old Apple Pie: Gluten Free and Vegan

  1. Pingback: Elvis Cookies: Gluten Free & Vegan | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

