Double Chocolate Chip Cookies: A Guest Post!

Tasty, gluten free, double chocolate chip cookies.  Best served with a glass of milk.

Tasty, gluten free, double chocolate chip cookies. Best served with a glass of milk.

This post is brought to you by my sister, Kaitlyn.  I haven’t baked these cookies myself, but I’ve eaten them and can attest to their deliciousness!!

***

You already know a bit about me. I’m the gullible, homework doing, frosting loving, Blue Hen little sister. And just like any good little sister, I tend to follow in the footsteps of those before me. In this case, it means I love to make and eat cookies. Our mother taught us how to bake when we were very young, to the point where in the third grade for Career Day, I declared I wanted to be a pastry chef and brought in homemade mint meringues that I made by myself. As a result, hot cookies straight out of the oven are my happy place.

A few weeks ago I decided I was in the mood for a double chocolate chip cookies, but this was something I had never experimented with before. I threw some things in the mixer – not even measuring. Out of the entire batch of dough, I was only able to make approximately 20 cookies because these things were massive. In the words of my boyfriend they were “large and in charge” and, due to their size, each were worth two of my sister’s creations when we inevitably traded.

Last night I decided to see if I could recreate the deliciousness, but on a slightly smaller scale, and came out with closer to 80 cookies. My boyfriend was hesitant of me making them, with the fear that he would wind up eating them all. Again. When I told him he didn’t have to have any, he simply responded “Yes, I do!” and promptly took a cookie and devoured one (and then four more). Safe to say, I actually wrote down what I did this time so I don’t have to guess at what I did in the future.

These smaller double chocolate chip cookies are soft and chewy, and aren’t overly sweet. They are the kind of cookie that you don’t realize how many you had until you look at the plate and realize there are none left. The boy says he prefers the massive ones – I think it’s mainly because he feels better about himself when he just eats one cookie (even if it is the size of your face) rather than five baby sized cookies. No matter the size, these puppies won’t last long!

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

Bite-sized goodness!

Bite-sized goodness!

  • 1 Cup butter (2 sticks), softened
  • 1 1/2 Cup White sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 1/3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 Cup Gluten Free Flour (with xanthan gum)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 12 oz. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350, and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium size bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, and cocoa powder. Set aside
  3. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter & sugar.
  4. Mix in one egg at a time, being sure to combine well between each addition, followed by the vanilla extract.
  5. With the motor low, add in the flour blend, about 1/2 cup at a time until it is fully incorporated.
  6. Fold in chocolate chips.
  7. Scoop dough onto cookie sheets and bake for 14 – 16 minutes.
3 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Chip Cookies: A Guest Post!

  1. Pingback: Guest Post – Buffalo Chicken Dip: Gluten Free | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

