Pumpkin Bread: Vegan and Gluten Free

Pumpkin bread, with the addition of bananas, makes for a great snack or breakfast!

Pumpkin bread, with the addition of bananas, makes for a great snack or breakfast!

This weekend I caved and put on the heat.  I didn’t have much of a choice as the temperatures in our apartment dipped down into the fifties.  But the advantage to this colder weather means that baking all the time is far more acceptable.  Because, really, fresh baked goods straight from the oven are infinitely more warming than a heater is.

Knowing I had some leftover pumpkin from the breakfast bars I’d made, I decided to give pumpkin bread a shot.  Now, I’m told that I made this when I was in Girl Scouts, but I can’t say I remember a twenty year old recipe, so to the internet I turned.  What I found surprised me: a lot of people put bananas in their pumpkin bread.  Like a lot.  And with a few overripe bananas on my counter (again, I know – I swear, I do eat them!), I knew that I had to try it.

The pumpkin bread turned out really well.  You can’t really taste the banana, although it does lend a certain sweetness that you wouldn’t get from the pumpkin alone.  Because of that, you don’t need as much added sugar as you would in a typical pumpkin bread recipe.  And, of course, the pumpkin pie spice shines through.  Whether you eat it straight, or toasted with butter or apple butter, this simple bread is delicious and warms you from the inside.  It might even make you forget about the plummeting temperatures outside!

Vegan Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients

Freshly sliced pumpkin bread.  It tastes like fall!

Freshly sliced pumpkin bread. It tastes like fall!

  • 1 ¾ cups gf flour with xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp cardamom
  • 8 oz canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 ½ mashed ripe bananas
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp flax seed, dissolved in 6 tbsp warm water
  • ½ cup white sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Prepare a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  3. Beat together pumpkin and banana, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. Beat in flax seed and vanilla.
  4. Add sugar and beat until completely dissolved.
  5. Slowly stir in flour mixture until just incorporated.
  6. Transfer batter to prepared loaf pan and bake for an hour.
  7. Let cool for 10 minutes in pan before transferring to a rack to finish cooling.
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread: Vegan and Gluten Free

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Cream Cheese | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

