Chocolate Truffles

Super simple, absolutely delicious chocolate truffles

Super simple, absolutely delicious chocolate truffles

Recently, my husband has started eating egg whites in the morning.  Which means I’ve had some extra egg yolks sitting around feeling neglected.  And you guys know how I am; I couldn’t leave those yolks there all sad.  So, like anyone with a quandary, I turned to Google.  I found quite a few pages telling me what I could do with extra yolks.  Creme brulee?  Nah, I didn’t have any cream in the house.  Hollandaise sauce?  I’m making neither steak nor Eggs Benedict.  Chocolate truffles?  Now that I could do…

I clicked on the link, excited.  I mean, truffles are delicious and far too often they are “processed with wheat.”  So I was going to use my sad little egg yolks and make my tummy happy all in one!  But then the page loaded.  In French.

Truffes au Chocolat.  It sounds fancier in French!

Truffes au Chocolat. It sounds fancier in French!

After six years spanning 8th grade to college, I finally had a practical application for my French lessons!  I sat and diligently strained to recall what I learned all those years ago.  And I did it!  I translated it!  I may not be traipsing around Paris, but my foreign language skills came in handy!  It was certainly more helpful than any physics or calculus I took.  (On a side note, I realized after my translating adventure that I could have used Google for this, too.  But whatever.)

Anyway, these truffles turned out amazingly well.  They are ridiculously simple to make, and are so creamy and decadent.  Those fancy boxes they sell have nothing on these guys.  You have to make them.  Seriously.  Call it an excuse to make an egg white omelet for breakfast.  And think about it.  The breakfast would be super healthy, so it totally balances out eating a couple of these truffles!!

Chocolate Truffles

Adapted from http://www.marmiton.org/recettes/recette_truffes-au-chocolat_15660.aspx

Yields 24 truffles

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups chocolate chipsChocolate Truffles
  • 7 tbsp butter
  • 2 egg yolks, slightly beaten
  • ½ cup powdered sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder, mixed with 1 tbsp white sugar
  1. Melt the chocolate chips in the top of a double boiler. Slowly add in the butter until it is fully melted. Be sure to stir so it is all incorporated.Chocolate Truffles
  2. When the butter is fully melted into the chocolate, remove from the heat. Temper the eggs by adding a few drops of the chocolate mixture to the eggs and whisk fully. This will bring the eggs up in temperature gradually and prevent you from getting chocolate scrambled eggs.
  3. Slowly stir the tempered eggs and sugar into the chocolate mixture.
  4. Put the mixture in the fridge for at least an hour, until it has solidified.
  5. Roll the truffles into balls, then roll them in the cocoa powder mix. To make consistent sizes, I scooped the truffles using a small cookie scoop.
  6. Store covered in the refrigerator.
8 thoughts on “Chocolate Truffles

  1. Pingback: Handheld Omelette Muffins | Quinoa and Cookies

  2. Pingback: 2014 Favorites | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

