H is for Hungary: Chicken Paprikas

Chicken Paprikas

Chicken Paprikas

“Waiter, there is to much pepper on my paprikas.”  When I decided to make Chicken Paprikas for Hungary, people started quoting this at me left and right.  Yes, When Harry Met Sally is an iconic film.  But I have to admit, I had no recollection of this quote.  After this, though, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget it.

When I pulled Hungary I figured chicken paprikas was a good place to start.  I considered goulash, but I knew that I’d be making that in December.  So, when I found the recipe I saw that it called for a generic paprika.  But for me, that wasn’t good enough.  Anyone who has listened to me talk about cooking knows that I’m a bit of a spice snob.  If it’s not from Penzeys, don’t talk to me.  Seriously, their stores are like Yankee Candle for your mouth.  You walk in and there are jars of spices, herbs, and blends all over the place.  And with the exception of the beef base, everything is gluten free.  So, yes, Penzeys is my happy place.  Anyway, when I saw the generic paprika, I decided that I needed to upgrade from my “Californian Paprika.”  I went to the store and settled on the Hungarian Sweet (they had about four or five varieties of paprika; I told you, this place is amazing!!).

In the final dish, the paprika really shined through.  The flavor was sweet and rich, and it was a nice, hot, hearty meal for a fall night when the cold air was really starting to set in.  All in all, I definitely recommend it.

Chicken Paprikas

Adapted from http://homepage.interaccess.com/~june4/hunchicpaprikas.html

Ingredients

Step by Step: Chicken Paprikas

Step by Step: Chicken Paprikas

  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 5 tbsp butter (separate)
  • 3 tbsp Hungarian paprika
  • Black pepper
  • Salt
  • 3 lbs boneless chicken thighs
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp potato flour
  • ½ pint sour cream
  • Potato dumplings
  1. Melt 4 tbsp butter over medium high heat and brown onions.
  2. Stir in paprika (and salt and pepper to taste) to form a paste.
  3. Add chicken and brown on all sides.  Add water, cover, reduce heat, and let it simmer until the chicken is cooked through.
  4. Meanwhile, make the potato dumplings (see below).
  5. Remove the chicken with tongs, leaving the drippings in the pan.  Stir in the sour cream until it is entirely incorporated.  To thicken the sauce, mix the remaining butter with the flour and stir into the gravy.
  6. Add the chicken and dumplings back into the pan and heat through, careful not to boil the mixture.

Potato Dumplings

Ingredients

  • 1 cup potato flakes (I used Bob’s Red Mill…no extra ingredients)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup potato flour
  • 1 cup water
  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil and salt generously.
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl.
  3. Drop small spoonfuls into the boiling water.  Cook for about 5 or 6 minutes (to check for doneness, cut one in half and verify the consistency.  Don’t worry too much about it, as they will continue cooking in the gravy).  Drain the dumplings..
One thought on “H is for Hungary: Chicken Paprikas

  1. Pingback: L is for Luxembourg: Coq au Riesling | Quinoa and Cookies

Leave a Reply

